How could I resist?

Becca, our youngest, loves bourbon chicken at the mall food court. I have been working for months to duplicate that recipe so I can make it at home (mostly so I don’t have to drive to the mall so often just to buy dinner). Tonight, I finally nailed it. Then I fell off the wagon and had a heaping helping because it really is delicious.

I was actually doing pretty well for the first half of the day. A spoonful of peanut butter for breakfast, followed by a grilled cheese with mushrooms for lunch with a side of apples. If you have never tried mushrooms on a grilled cheese I highly recommend it.

If you are not a full time vegetarian feel free to try the copycat bourbon chicken recipe. I posted it on my cooking blog “Old Guy In The Kitchen at https://oldguykitchen.com/2019/01/16/food-court-bourbon-chicken-copycat-recipe/

Did I mention there is a pork shoulder in the instant pot because today was the use by date? The house smells amazing, and I fear tomorrow’s temptation is already upon me…..

Vegetarian grade for today: C+
Nutritional grade for today: B
Outlook for tomorrow: not good

Leave a comment